Our DWI defense lawyers offer free consultations. Call 763.323.6555.
Minnesota Underage Drinking & Driving Attorneys
Minnesota law provides misdemeanor penalties and driver’s license suspension for any driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such consumption present in the person’s body.
The relevant standard is "not a drop" of alcohol. Even a .01 blood alcohol concentration constitutes crime. Any driver under the age of 21 with any alcohol whatsoever in their system will be grounds for misdemeanor penalties - up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000.00 fine.
A violation of the zero-tolerance underage drinking and driving does not in itself constitute a DWI or impaired driving violation, nor can it be used as an enhancing factor for any subsequent Minnesota DWI violation.
Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court, not the juvenile court. As such, they are subject to the full range of adult penalties and consequences. Although underage drivers are subject to different laws, they are entitled to the same rights as an offender over the age of 21.
Call us today at 763.323.6555 or contact us by e-mail to schedule a free consultation. Protect your rights if you face underage consumption charges.
It is a crime in Minnesota for any person under the age of 21 to consume alcoholic beverages. There is an exception, however, if an individual under 21 consumes an alcoholic beverage in their parent or guardian’s home with their consent.
Minnesota's drinking age law prohibits a person who is under the age of 21 from:
Consuming alcohol without parental permission and supervision;
Purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol;
Possessing alcohol with intent to consume;
Entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of purchasing or consuming alcohol; or
Misrepresenting one’s age for the purpose of purchasing alcohol.
A violation of the underage drinking laws constitute a misdemeanor, but does not result in suspension of the driver’s license unless the person has used a driver’s license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false identification to purchase or attempt to purchase alcohol (90 days suspension).
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you face underage DWI or alcohol consumption charges, we know you have many unanswered questions. The sooner you involve an experienced defense attorney, the better able we will be to gather evidence and address other important elements of your case. Contact our Minnesota DWI defense firm now at 763.323.6555 to schedule a free consultation with one of our attorneys.
Client Testimonial: "The firm did an outstanding job on my case. Jason's efforts resulted in the dismissal of several counts and a reduction of the remaining charge so I didn't have to serve any jail time. I highly recommend the Brown Law Offices. The attorneys and staff were very responsive to my needs and on top of things. They handled my case with efficiency and stood by my side when I was worried about my future." - Robert P., North Branch, Minnesota
Serving Clients Statewide
Our Minnesota underage consumption defense lawyers represent clients throughout Minnesota, including the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Duluth, Rochester, Mankato, St. Cloud, Moorhead, Apple Valley, Blaine, Bloomington, Brooklyn Park, Burnsville, Coon Rapids, Eagan, Eden Prairie, Edina, Lakeville, Maple Grove, Maplewood, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Richfield, Roseville and Woodbury.
Contact the Brown Law Offices, P.A. by e-mail or call 763.323.6555 to schedule a free consultation with a Minneapolis, Minnesota, underage consumption lawyer.
Former Prosecutor • Former Criminal Investigator • Former Judicial Law Clerk
Free Consultation • Call 24/7 • Reasonable Fees • Credit Cards Accepted